Visit of Foreign Minister Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu to Equatorial Guinea, 21-22 July 2020

Visit of Foreign Minister Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu to Equatorial Guinea, 21-22 July 2020

After a fruitful visit to Niger, Foreign Minister Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu visited Equatorial Guinea on 21-22 July 2020.

Minister Çavuşoğlu held a meeting with the Minister of External Relations and Cooperation, Simeon Oyono Esono Angue of Equatorial Guinea.

Following the meeting, the two Ministers held a joint press conference.

Minister Çavuşoğlu expressed his pleasure of paying the first offical visit to Equatorial Guinea at the Foreign Ministerial level and stated that with the agreements signed that day, the legal ground of our bilateral relations were strengthened.

Minister Çavuşoğlu also emphasized that Turkish companies had been so far implementing successful projects in Equatorial Guinea and that they would also contribute to the 2035 Development Plan of Equatorial Guinea as well.

On 22 July Minister Çavuşoğlu participated in the official inauguration ceremony of the Turkish Embassy in Malabo, together with the Deputy Prime Minister, Foreign Minister and Minister of Public Works of Equatorial Guinea.

In the inauguration ceremony Minister Çavuşoğlu stated that we had taken a historical step in the 40th year of the establishment of our diplomatic relations, strengthened by the political will of our Presidents, by opening in Malabo our 42nd Embassy in Africa.

Finally, Minister Çavuşoğlu was received by President Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo of Equatorial Guinea, who visited Turkey three times in the last two years and conveyed him the greetings and best wishes of President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan.

Minister Çavuşoğlu also stated that we wanted to sign the Free Trade Agreement and the Mutual Promotion and Protection Agreement for Investments with Equatorial Guinea as soon as possible in order to increase our trade volume and investments.

Within the framework of the visit, the “Agreement on Air Services” and the “Agreement on the Abolition of Visas for Holders of Official Passports” were signed.