No: 132, 7 May 2013, Press Release Regarding the Expansion of the Scope of e-Visa Application

Citizens of 94 countries travelling to Turkey for tourism and trade purposes and who have the option of obtaining their visa at the border gates, will now be able to receive their visas through the internet (www.evisa.gov.tr) with the Electronic Visa (e-Visa) application process which was launched on 17 April 2013. It is expected that this easy e-Visa process will have a positive effect on our tourism revenue and foreign trade.

Meanwhile, preparations for the expansion of the scope of this e-Visa application process are underway.

Within this framework, as of 15 May 2013,

-e-Visas will be issued to holders of People's Republic of China passports on the condition that they have a valid visa or residence permit from Schengen or OECD countries.

- Citizens of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan holding regular, service or special passports who have a valid visa or residence permit from Schengen or OECD countries will also benefit from the E-visa application process.

- Iraqi citizens, travelling overland to Turkey can also benefit from the e-Visa application process under the same conditions.

- Egyptian citizens’ visa residence duration in their electronic visas has been extended from 15 days to 30 days.