ACD was established as an intergovernmental forum in 2002 in order to improve intracontinental cooperation among Asian countries and to ensure coordination among different regional organizations

ACD, which is the first international organization covering the whole of Asia, has 34 members from different regional organizations including ASEAN, SAARC, CICA, OIC, GCC, Eurasian Economic Union and SCO.

The Ministers of Foreign Affairs, who meet annually, constitute the ACD’s “higher body.” In the period between ministerial meetings, Foreign Ministers hold working meetings in which they discuss implementation of the projects and programs, exchange their views on key international and regional issues on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly session.

One of the recent milestones in the ACD's evolution was the launch of the Asia Cooperation Dialogue Summit.

Its Secretariat is in Kuwait.

Turkey’s Membership:

Turkey has become a member of ACD in 2013.

Turkey will assume the Presidency for the term 2019-2020, on 27 September 2019.