Council of Europe

Cultural Aspects

1. Turkey  is  signatory to the following European Council conventions in the field of culture:

-European Cultural Convention (1954)

-European    Convention   on   the    Protection   of   the Archaeological Heritage (1969)

-Convention  for  the  Protection  of  the   Architectural Heritage of Europe (1985)

-European    Convention   on   the    Protection   of   the Archaeological Heritage (revised, 1992)

2. Turkey participates in the activities of the four steering committees established in 2001 by the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe in lieu of the Council for Cultural Cooperation (CDCC) and its specialized committees. These four steering committees are:

-Steering Committee for Education (CDED)
-Steering Committee for Higher Education and Research (CDESR)
-Steering Committee for Culture (CDCULT)
-Steering Committee for Cultural Heritage (CDPAT)
3. Turkish members of the Assembly of the Council of Europe take part in the Committee of Culture, Science and Education which is one of the Assembly committees. The activities of the four sub-committes (Cultural Heritage, Science and Ethics, Media, Youth and Sport) of the Committee of Culture, Science and Education are also being followed by our Ministry.
4.  Turkey joined Eurimages (European Support  Fund  for the  Co-production and Distribution of Creative Cinematographic and Audiovisual Works) in February 1990. Established in 1988, Eurimages has 30 member states. Eurimages aims to promote the European film industry by encouraging the production and distribution of films and foster cooperation between professionals. In this field, Eurimages, since its creation in 1988, has supported 980 European co-productions to a total of 280.000.000 Euros. Turkish private film foundations in cooperation with  their foreign counterparts, can directly apply to Eurimages for financial assistance to be used for mutually realized projects. The 91st meeting of he Board of Management of Eurimages took place in Istanbul on 3-6 October 2004.

5. The Council of Europe launched the STAGE (Support for Transition in the Arts and Culture in Greater Europe) Project in 2000 which aims to develop the cultural exchange and cooperation between Georgia, Azerbaidjan and Armenia, assist these countries in the transition of their cultural policies and contribute through the cultural sphere to the stability of the Caucasian region. Turkey hosted the 3rd Ministerial Colloquium of the STAGE Project in september 2003 and continues to follow closely, as observer state, the activities pursued within the framework of this project.

6. The Council of Europe’s Museum Prize for 2004 has been awarded  by the Parliamentary Assembly’s Committee on Culture, Science and Education to the Museum of Health Care in Edirne. The Museum Prize of the Council of Europe has been awarded annually since 1977 to a museum judged to have made a significant contribution to the understanding of European cultural heritage.