The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO)

The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) is an international organization that will be established upon the entry into force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty, a Convention that outlaws nuclear test explosions. The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) is a multilateral treaty opened for signature in 1996 by which states agree to ban all nuclear explosions in all environments, for military or civilian purposes. It was signed by 183 states and ratified by 164 but has not entered into force as eight specific states among 44 (so-called Annex-2 states whose signatures are required for the Treaty to enter into force, namely the US, China, Iran, Egypt, Israel, India, Pakistan and North Korea) have not ratified the Treaty yet. Being among those 44 countries, Türkiye signed the CTBT in 1996 and ratified it in 2000.

The CTBTO will be tasked with verifying the ban on nuclear tests and will operate therefore a worldwide monitoring system and may conduct on-site inspections. The Preparatory Commission for the CTBTO, and its Provisional Technical Secretariat, were established in 1997 and are headquartered in Vienna, Austria.

Türkiye considers the CTBT as a leading instrument complementing the nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation regime established by the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT). With this understanding, Türkiye will continue to promote the CTBT in all relevant international fora and encourage those who are yet to ratify the Treaty to do so as soon as possible.