South East European Countries Cooperation Process (SEECP)

South East European Cooperation Process (SEECP) that brings together Turkey, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Greece, Croatia, Moldova and Montenegro is a symbol of the common will of the countries of the region to improve cooperation among themselves and to bring lasting stability in South East Europe.  SEECP is the only Balkan cooperation forum in the region. In this sense, SEECP could be mentioned as the political recipient of Balkan cooperation models of 1930s, 1950s and 1980s.

Turkey attaches particular importance to the SEECP as the authentic voice of the region, which provides a useful and valuable forum for high- level discussions and deliberations on issues of common concern.

Turkey also attaches due importance to the fact that Regional Cooperation Council, which became operational since February 2008, along with South East Europe Cooperation Process (SEECP) will constitute beneficial and complementary mechanisms regarding the Euro-Atlantic Orientation of the Region.


The Chairmanship-in-Office of the Process, which is structured as a flexible permanent consultancy mechanism without a permanent secretary, is assumed by the participant countries for one year term. Subsequent to the Chairmanship-in-Office of Greece, Croatia and Bulgaria, the post that is currently occupied by Moldavia will be assumed by Turkey in June 2009.

SEECP Countries also occupy an important part of international politics. All countries are members of OSCE and some of them are EU, NATO, BSEC and CIS.