Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Inter-governmental Organisation dedicated to regional integration in the Eastern Caribbean.

OECS came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed the Treaty of Basseterre agreeing to cooperate and promote unity and solidarity among the Members.

The Treaty of Basseterre was replaced in 2010 with a Revised Treaty of Basseterre, creating an economic union which is an agreement between countries where barriers to trade are reduced or removed for a single market with a customs union.

OECS is now an eleven-member grouping comprising of the full Member States of Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. These members are part of the Economic Union and received the full benefits of Economic Union like free movement of people and goods, with the British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe as associate members of OECS.

Relations with Türkiye

On 3 June 2016, a memorandum of cooperation was signed between the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) and Türkiye, on the margin of the 7th Summit of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS) held in Havana.

In 2017, Turkish Embassy in Santo Domingo was designated as the OECS representative of Türkiye.

Türkiye aims to establish cooperation with OECD in the fields of disaster management, support to SMEs, tourism, health, agriculture, environmental management and climate change and cultural change.