No: 162, 9 July 2011, Press Release Regarding the Recognition of the Independence of the Republic of South Sudan

South Sudan has declared its independence on 9th July 2011, following the outcome of separation emanating from the South Sudan referendum, which was carried out in a peaceful and democratic environment between 9-15 January 2011, within the framework of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA).
Supporting the Comprehensive Peace Agreement from the very outset, and taking the legitimate result of
the referendum as a basis, Turkey, in line with the international community, has recognized the Republic of South Sudan on 9th July 2011, on the date of its declaration of independence.

In this context, our delegation headed by H.E Mr. Cevdet Yılmaz , Minister of Development, has attended the independence ceremony on 9th July 2011 in Juba, and has conveyed to the South Sudanese authorities, the letter signed by H.E. President Abdullah Gül, addressed to the President of the Republic of South Sudan, on the recognition of the independence of the Republic of South Sudan, by the Republic of Turkey.

The new Republic of South Sudan has been recognized as of its establishment, by the Republic of Sudan, as well as the US, member countries of the EU, League of Arab States, Gulf Cooperation Council and the African Union.

Turkey will exert every effort to develop friendly and brotherly relations with the Republic of South Sudan and the People of South Sudan, wishing them a peaceful and prosperous future.