Joint Press Release, "The First Meeting of the East-West Energy Corridor Joint Pipeline Security Commission", Ankara, 14 October 2005


The Joint Pipeline Security Commission was established in accordance with Article 7 of the “Protocol Among the Republic of Turkey, the Republic of Azerbaijan and Georgia Relating to the Provision of Security for the East-West Energy Corridor”.

The first meeting of the Joint Pipeline Security Commission was held in Ankara, on 14 October, 2005 with the participation of the related authorities of the Republic of Turkey, Republic of Azerbaijan and Georgia. 

During the meeting, the delegations made presentations on the state of preparedness in their countries with respect to security and protection of the Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan oil pipeline. In this context, they had detailed exchange of views regarding the threat assessment, security situation in the region, training of security personnel, equipment and cross border cooperation in times of crises.

Delegations also explored the possibilities of furthering cooperation among the three countries on all aspects of the security of the Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan oil pipeline.

The Delegations agreed that the Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan oil pipeline which is the major component of East West Energy Corridor will substantially contribute to the global energy security when the first oil will be loaded on tankers from Ceyhan soon.

The Delegations also agreed that the second meeting of the Joint Pipeline Commission will be held in Baku during the first half of 2006.