The Black Sea Economic Cooperation Organization (BSEC)

Member States: 
Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine.


Related Bodies and Affiliated Centers:  

Parliamentary Assembly of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (PABSEC), BSEC Business Council, Black Sea Trade and Development Bank (BSTDB), International Center for Black Sea Studies (ICBSS), BSEC Coordination Center for the Exchange of Statistical Data and Economic Information


Austria, Belarus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Poland, Slovak Republic, Tunisia, United States of America, Black Sea Commission, Energy Charter, European Union, International Black Sea Club.

Sectoral Diologue Partners:

Hungary, Iran, Jordan, Japan, Korea, Montenegro, Slovenia, England, Black Sea International Shipowners Association (BINSA), Black & Azov Seas Ports Association (BASPA), Union of Road Transport Association in the Black Sea Economic Cooperation Region (BSEC-URTA), Black Sea Region Association of Shipbuilders and Shiprepairers (BRASS), Black Sea Universities Network (BSUN), Danube Commission, Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions of Europe (CPMR), International Network for SMEs (INSME)



On 25 June 1992, the Heads of State and Government of eleven countries, Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Turkey and Ukraine, signed in Istanbul the Summit Declaration and the Bosphorus Statement giving birth to the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC).

It came into existence as a unique and promising model of multilateral political and economic initiative aimed at fostering interaction and harmony among the Member States, as well as to ensure peace, stability and prosperity encouraging friendly and good-neighbourly relations in the Black Sea region.

The BSEC Headquarters - the Permanent International Secretariat of the Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC PERMIS) - was established in March 1994 in Istanbul.

With the entry into force of its Charter on 1 May 1999, BSEC acquired international legal identity and was transformed into a full-fledged regional economic organization: Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation. With the accession of Serbia in April 2004, the Organization’s Member States increased to twelve.

BSEC covers a geography encompassing the territories of the Black Sea littoral States, the Balkans and the Caucasus with an area of nearly 20 million square kilometers with almost 350 million population.

The 25th Annivarsary Summit of BSEC
Turkey will assume the Chairmanship-in-Office as of 1 January 2017. During our Chairmanship, we are willing to maintain and enhance project oriented and result-based approach in several areas of cooperation.

The 25th Anniversary Summit of BSEC will be celebrated in Istanbul in June 2017, with the participation of the Heads of State and Government of the Member States.