Relations with the European Parliament

The Joint Parliamentary Committee

Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) functions on the basis of the Association Agreement (Ankara Agreement of 1963 and Article 27) and the European Parliament's resolution of 14 May 1965. The Turkey-EU JPC is composed of an equal number of Members of the Turkish Grand National Assembly and the European Parliament.

The JPC holds discussions on the relations between Turkey and the EU scrutinizes the application of the Customs Union and follows in particular the progress of the accession negotiations.

For the term 2014-2019, the members of the EP Delegation to Turkey and EU JPC is chaired by Manolis Kefalogiannis (Greece, EPP). Vice-chairs Miltiadis Kyrkos (Greece, S&D) and Takis Hadjgeorgiou (Greek Cypriot Administration, GUE/NGL)

The 76th JPC meeting was held in Ankara on 19-20 March 2015.

The EP Resolutions on Turkey

The EP adopts each year a “Report on Turkey" based on the Commission’s Progress Report and reflects the Parliament’s views.

Ms. Kati Piri (Dutch, S&D) is currently the rapporteur for Turkey at the EP.

From June 2013 to November 2016, the European Parliament has adopted nine resolutions on Turkey, including two Turkey Reports, since they included unacceptable and unjust allegations, they are returned to the EP.